New: videos and slides of the keynotes are now available.

An informal, 1-day workshop at Télécom ParisTech, aimed at bringing together researchers in MIR, music cognition, musical acoustics, audio signal processing, computer music and related fields, to discuss mutual interests, foster community, and encourage collaboration.

To frame the discussion we have chosen the big umbrella theme of musical timbre, and propose to start with the questions “What is it?” and “How best to represent it?”. We believe that these are issues of great interest across several communities, all of which could benefit from the insights and multiple viewpoints emerging from an interdisciplinary discussion.

The workshop is dedicated to the memory of David L. Wessel, 1942-2014.

Format: The workshop will be small, featuring around 40 participants including both senior researchers and graduate students. We hope that all participants will benefit from an informal and safe environment in which to present their work and ideas, as well as their views regarding future research directions. Senior researchers are encouraged to present themselves in short (5 mins) introductory talks. The workshop will also feature three guest talks by Michèle Castellengo, Tim Griffiths and Stéphane Mallat, intended to kick-start the discussion.

Date: Friday November 14, 2014, all day.

Location: Saphir Amphitheater, Télécom Paris Tech, 46 Rue Barrault, 75013 Paris, France. For more information please visit our venue page.


  • 9-10.30am Welcome and introductory talks
  • 10.30-11am Coffee break
  • 11am-12.30am What is Timbre? Michèle Castellengo’s talk (30 mins) and discussion (1h)
  • 12.30am-2pm Lunch
  • 2pm-3.30pm How do we perceive Timbre? Tim Griffiths’ talk (30 mins) and discussion (1h)
  • 3.30pm-4.00pm Coffee break
  • 4.00pm-5.30pm How to represent timbre? Stéphane Mallat’s talk (30 mins) and discussion (1h)
  • 5.30pm-6.00pm Wrap-up session

Registration: the workshop is free and open to all, but to aid in the organization, we ask that all participants register by going to this site.

Organizers: Juan Pablo Bello (New York University), Slim Essid (Télécom ParisTech), Matthias Mauch (Queen Mary University of London) and Geoffroy Peeters (IRCAM).


  • Vincent Adam, Gatsby computational neuroscience unit – UCL
  • Jean-Julien Aucouturier, CNRS/IRCAM
  • Roland Badeau, Telecom ParisTech
  • Juan Pablo Bello, New York University
  • Emmanouil Benetos, City University London
  • Rachel Bittner, New York University
  • Morina Bringezu, LSP, DEC, ENS
  • Juan Jose Burred, Independent Researcher
  • Michèle Castellengo, CNRS – LAM, IJLRA
  • Jean-Francois Charles, Conservatoire de Brest
  • Gérard Chollet, CNRS-LTCI
  • Arshia Cont, IRCAM
  • Pawel Cyrta, Samsung R&D Institute Poland
  • Laurent Daudet, Université Paris Diderot
  • Bertrand David, Télécom ParisTech
  • Simon Durand, Telecom ParisTech
  • Aaron Einbond, IRCAM
  • Slim Essid, Télécom ParisTech
  • Sebastian Ewert, Queen Mary University of London
  • George Fazekas, Queen Mary University of London
  • Sébastien Fenet, Telecom ParisTech
  • Thomas Fillon, Parisson
  • Dominique Fourer, LaBRI – University of Bordeaux
  • Stanislaw Gorlow, Sony CSL
  • Tim Griffiths, Newcastle University
  • Perfecto Herrera, Universitat Pompeu Fabra
  • Xavier Jaureguiberry, Telecom ParisTech
  • Pierre Laffitte, IFSTTAR
  • Clement Laroche, Telecom ParisTech
  • Simon Leglaive, Telecom ParisTech
  • Vincent Lostanlen, ENS
  • Mounira Maazaoui, Telecom ParisTech
  • Stéphane Mallat, École Normale Supérieur
  • Sylvain Marchand, University of Brest
  • Matthias Mauch, Queen Maru, University of London
  • Michael Mauskapf, Kellogg School of Management, Northwestern University
  • Matt McVicar, University of Bristol
  • Maria Panteli, Queen Mary University of London
  • Marcus Pearce, Queen Mary, University of London
  • Geoffroy Peeters, IRCAM
  • Guillaume Pellerin, Parisson
  • Claire Pelofi, Ecole Normale Supérieure
  • Mark Plumbley, Queen Mary University of London
  • François Rigaud, Telecom ParisTech
  • Mark Sandler, c4dm@QMUL
  • Shihab Shamma, ENS and Univ. of Maryland
  • Sundeep Teki, ENS
  • Guillaume Tiger, Cnam
  • Liying Wei, Telecom ParisTech
  • Tillman Weyde, City University, UK

Contact: For questions or suggestions, please email jpbello@nyu.edu